top of page

Pandemics, demigods and inaugurations. My week in review 22/01/17

Here we are once again with my week in review, unlike last week however we actually have stuff to talk about this week. Whether it be the start of the world wide epidemic finding its first victims. The team up of a princess, a demigod and a chicken providing proof that Disney will one day rule the entire bloody world. Or the inaguration that now has the entire world holding its breath, this has indeed been an interesting week.

First things first, let's start off with my younger cousin from Wollongong, staying over with us for most of the week. What should have been a great week turned into something a bit more serious, and the root of this can be traced to my dad who became sick about a week prior. After he got better, my mum got sick and then when she recovered. You guessed it, I became sick. It was so bad that I couldn't travel to attend a briefing for a volenteer job, thankfully they're still letting me help out. Unfortunetly it didn't end there, as my brother and I were visting our grandparents with our cousins, my brother became sick (say it with me now) as soon as I got better. Not a day later I found out that my cousin visiting had created a vomit trail across his room in the middle of the night.

Now for something more positive. Let's talk about Moana, because holy hell this year has been great. Not only for animated films such as Zootopia, Kubo, Dory and Your Name all coming out this year, but for Disney as well. Think about it, both this and Zootopia were both critically and finacially loved by everyone. Then Pixar released Finding Dory, which become the second highest grossing film this year, with Rogue One taking the top spot, and guess what that was also from Disney. Not only that but Marvel's Civil War and Doctor Strange both stomping the competition with the exception of Deadpool.

But I digress, let's actually talk about Moana which if you haven't already guessed, I really enjoyed Not quite as much as Zootopia though, but pretty damn close. The film's greatest strength is the chemistry between the two leads Moana and Maui, both characters work perfectly off each other. Hell the supporting characters which include a tattoo of Maui (I'm not kidding) and a extremly dum rooster shockingly voiced by Alan Tudyk, were also extremly enjoyable. However you see the pig in the poster, yeah, he is only at the start and the very end of the film. It's baffling that the marketing team has him so prominently in all the posters, he is hardly in the film. Also I would be doing a disservice to the film if I didn't mention the incredible music. I loved nearly every song in this film, especially one in particular called "How far I'll go" which I've already listended to countless times (it was also nominated for a golden globe). I have a link to it down below, also spoiler warning if you haven't already seen the film.

If I had to point out some negatives, I would have to say that the story itself, is something that you have seen a million times before in other Disney films. Princess isn't happy with what she has and wants more (Jasmine, Areil, Belle just off the top of my head). The two leads start off hating each other, then grow an understanding and become friends, animal sidekick/comic relief, you get the picture. However I strongly believe that a story is held up by its characters. If a story is cliche or crap, but still has a great set of characters, then people will enjoy it as they have something they can root for. Likewise, even if you have a very interesting plot but no good characters to help support it, then the audience will have no one to care about.

Overall this has been a fairly enjoyable week, even with all the crap that has happened this week, the positives were just too good to ignore. Also I just really wanted to talk about how good Moana was. I will give this week a 7/10.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page