top of page

One step forward. Five steps back

So after a busy fortnight, I'm back to the wonderful world of un-employment (yay for me). This also means I can now give an update on my work, which I admit I haven't been talking about. However now that I have nothing else to talk about, it's going to be today's topic.

Judging by the title you can probably guess where this blog is going, so let me confirm your suspisions. It all started when I had finsihed animating my latest scene, I was fully aware during production that I had some missing assets, and some of "finished" assets needed some editing, however I didn't realise just how much I needed to fix. The main problem was that NONE of my models had beed UVed. For the unaware, UVs are the "skin" of the models, they need to be orgainised so that when textures are applied, they look good.

E.g The first two images presented here is the base of a bed (green outline) that hasen't been UVed. Uvs start of looking like a flatted box as you can see to the right

While the second set of images are of a pillow (again green outline) that has been Uved (notice that you can see the shape of the front, back and sides, a bit like the pieces to a model plane)

As you can imagine, realising that I had to do this for everything had me very annoyed, but then I remembered that I also had to go back to all my scenes and replace the old models with the updated one. The one positive that I got out of all this was that when re-visting old scenes, I realised that there were other things that I could change without too much effort, like changing the camera angle.

Old Camera Angle

New Camera Angle

Take this shot for example, the top image was the original shot and upon revision I realised that it looked incredibly dull and boring, so I decided to change the position of the camera to the one you see below it. It's not a big change, however I feel that it's a much better looking image then the one before.

I feel like the only reason that this got so out of hand was that I was too eager to get into animation aspect. It was the reason that I started this project, so I probably felt that I could complete them later on, which as you can see I'm in the process of doing.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page